navigation

The Matrix Server of TU Dresden has been updated (28.03.2021). If you cannot see profile/room pictures or other sent media, please follow these instructions: Relogin your Client

Matrix at TU Dresden

Matrix is a free and open, secure, decentralized protocol for real-time communication, also known by the name of one of its clients, Element.

In recent years, the need for supporting digital tools for team collaboration has increased. A central tool is a team chat. According to Wikipedia, a chat refers to “electronic communication by means of written text in real time, usually via the Internet”. (Source). With a messenger team members can make each other aware of current information and especially share links (hyperlinks / links) for further collaboration (e.g. for finding appointments, collaborative writing, planning events, editing data, code, mind maps,). Due to the lack of a centralized offer so far, many teams at TU Dresden have been looking for their own solutions, some of which are privacy-critical or cannot be linked to other systems.

In order to meet the demand for real-time communication, the open communication protocol Matrix was introduced in a pilot operation at the TU Dresden at the end of 2018, after a comparative analysis of several potential solution options, and presented to the CIO in April 2019. In autumn 2019, the pilot operation was transferred to regular operation. e.g. digital teaching (Videos by Prof. Lasch) with Matrix in addition to the OPAL application.

Topics

Questions and Contact

Please address general questions to the service desk of TU Dresden:

https://tu-dresden.de/zih/dienste/service-desk

If the service desk is unable to help, questions are forwarded to the decentralized administration team that accompanies Matrix at the TU Dresden.

The ideal is to deal with problems in a transparent way, from which all others can learn. This can be done by describing the situation in the Matrix Support Room - here problems and solutions can be discussed together:

https://matrix.tu-dresden.de/#/room/#matrix-support:tu-dresden.de

For some anomalies you can try to empty the cache and reload everything: Settings > Help & About > Clear Cache and reload

Current maintenance is announced in the matrix room #Matrix-Betriebsstatus:tu-dresden.de.

Text and images are licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

navigation

Matrix an der TU Dresden

Matrix ist ein freies und offenes, sicheres, dezentralisiertes Protokoll für Echtzeit-Kommunikation, das auch unter dem Namen eines seiner nutzenden Programme, Element (früher Riot), bekannt ist.

Laptop mit Matrix Webclient geöffnet

Zur Zusammenarbeit in Teams stieg in den letzten Jahren der Bedarf an unterstützenden digitalen Werkzeugen (engl. tool). Ein zentrales Werkzeug ist dabei ein Team-Chat. Ein Chat bezeichnet, laut Wikipedia, „die elektronische Kommunikation mittels geschriebenem Text in Echtzeit, meist über das Internet“ (Quelle). Die dazugehörige Handlung nennt man „chatten“. Mit einem Chattool (manchmal auch Messenger genannt) können sich Teammitglieder gegenseitig auf aktuelle Informationen aufmerksam machen und insb. Verknüpfungen (Hyperlinks / Links) zur weitergehenden Zusammenarbeit teilen (bspw. zur Terminfindung, zum kollaborativen Schreiben, zum Planen von Events, zum Bearbeiten von Daten, Code, Mindmaps oder Prozessen). Viele Teams an der TU Dresden haben sich aufgrund des bisher fehlenden zentralen Angebots eigene Lösungen gesucht, die zum Teil datenschutzbedenklich sind oder nicht mit anderen Systemen verknüpfbar sind.

Zur Deckung des Bedarfes an Echtzeitkommunikation wurde daher Ende 2018, nach vergleichender Analyse mehrerer potentieller Lösungsoptionen, innerhalb der TU Dresden das offene Kommunikationsprotokoll Matrix in einem Pilotbetrieb eingeführt und im April 2019 im CIO präsentiert. Im Herbst 2019 wurde der Pilotbetrieb in den Regelbetrieb überführt. U.a. in der digitalen Lehre (Videos von Prof. Lasch) findet Matrix als Ergänzung zu OPAL Anwendung.

Themen der Dokumentation

Fragen / Kontakt

Allgemeine Fragen richten Sie bitte an den Servicedesk der TU Dresden:

https://tu-dresden.de/zih/dienste/service-desk

Sollte der Servicedesk nicht weiterhelfen können, werden von diesem Fragen an das dezentrale Administrationsteam, welches Matrix an der TU Dresden begleitet, weitergeleitet.

Ideal ist der transparente Umgang mit Problemen, aus denen alle Anderen lernen können. Dies kann durch Schildern des Sachverhaltes im Matrix-Support-Raum geschehen - hier können Probleme und Lösungen gemeinsam diskutiert werden:

https://matrix.tu-dresden.de/#/room/#matrix-support:tu-dresden.de

Man kann bei manchen Anomalien probieren den Cache (Zwischenspeicher) zu leeren und alles neu zu laden: Einstellungen > Hilfe & Über > Cache löschen und neu laden

Aktuelle Wartungen werden in dem Matrixraum #Matrix-Betriebsstatus:tu-dresden.de angekündigt.

Dieser Text steht unter der GNU Free Documentation License (FDL) in Version 1.3